Parent Information - SnapMaps

Last week SnapChat, a mobile application we are aware that is popular with our students, launched a new feature. SnapMaps allows users to see the location of their contacts. This feature allows others to accurately pinpoint where you are. There are three possible privacy settings:

  • Ghost mode, where only you can see your position;
  • My Friends mode, where any contact can see your location; and
  • Select Friends mode, just those who you choose can see you

ChildNet have posted a thorough explanation of SnapMaps and how to ensure users stay safe.

Please click here to read ChildNet's guide to SnapMaps


There are three settings for sharing your location on the map, these are; Ghost mode, My Friends, and Select Friends.
 

Ghost Mode

Ghost Mode means that you are the only person who can see your location on the map.
Within Ghost Mode you can still see the locations of your friends but they will be unable to see you. This setting will ensure that you have complete control over who knows your location.
 

My Friends

My Friends means that all of your contacts on Snapchat can see your location. If turning on this setting then it would be important for users to review their Snapchat contacts and also make sure that they never add someone they don't know in person onto Snapchat.

Select Friends
 

This setting allows users to look through their friend list and then decide which of their friends they want to be able to view their location. This setting gives users the opportunity to control who can view their location.

Please click here to read the BBC News article - Snapchat map update raises child safety worries


 


Mini Communities

  • 19348 pts £0.00
  • 18508 pts £0.00
  • 20717 pts £0.00
  • 18885 pts £0.00
  • 20120 pts £0.00

7582.61